THE FUTURE?

Have you found yourself wondering what the future holds?

We are living in very tumultuous times.   Nothing is as it was and change is the order of the day.  The UK has just had a referendum and voted to leave the EU – this is a momentous event in the history of Europe as a whole and the UK specifically.  Who knows how things will pan out …

There is a migration problem affecting the Western world as we know it and changing the traditional “landscape” and “lifestyles” of so many countries around the globe.   Increased threats of terrorism, economic changes and unstable markets.   I don’t need to remind you … just look around you, read the news headlines, listen to news.

Yes, there are a few positive changes too, but the rapid changes taking place is impacting on so many lives and communities

The Bible actually warns of change and various situations that will occur as we get closer to the return of the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Dangers of the Last Days

You should know this, Timothy, that in the last days there will be very difficult times. For people will love only themselves and their money. They will be boastful and proud, scoffing at God, disobedient to their parents, and ungrateful. london-riots-2011They will consider nothing sacred.  They will be unloving and unforgiving; they will slander others and have no self-control. They will be cruel and hate what is good. They will betray their friends, be reckless, be puffed up with pride, and love pleasure rather than God. They will act religious, but they will reject the power that could make them godly. Stay away from people like that! … (they) oppose the truth … have depraved minds and a counterfeit faith.

We also know that “everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will suffer persecution. But evil people and impostors will flourish.  They will deceive others and will themselves be deceived“.

If you know the Lord Jesus as your personal Saviour, then in the same way Paul urged Timothy, “remain faithful to the things you have been taught. … All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives.  It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.  God uses it to prepare and equip His people“.  (All Scripture quotations above are from 2 Timothy 3)

But having read the above and seeing what is happening around the world, we can still be so encouraged because God has promised He will never leave us nor forsake us.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go” Joshua 1:9
Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you” Deuteronomy 31:6

I could share so many more encouraging verses from the Bible, but I encourage you to look up the word encouragement in a concordance and find these treasures throughout God’s Word.

Yes the future is frightening, but if you know the Lord, He promises to be with you and help you each step of the way.

I end with the words of that wonderful hymn: “I know who holds tomorrow”
I don’t know about tomorrow
I just live from day to day
I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to gray
I don’t worry o’er the future
For I know what Jesus said
And today I’ll walk beside Him
For He knows what is ahead

Chorus:
Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand

I don’t know about tomorrow
It may bring me poverty
But the one who feeds the sparrow
Is the one who stands by me
And the path that be my portion
May be through the flame or flood
But His presence goes before me
And I’m covered with His blood

If you do not know the Lord Jesus as your personal Saviour, I urge you to get to know Him as soon as possible.  If you want to know more, please contact me.

Leave a Reply

