Finding rest for your souls ….

Portrait of depressed young businessman isolated on white“Come to me. all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you … and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29)

How many times have I come across this verse today? I have lost count, believe it or not!

What does this tell me  ?  (No, not the fact that I’ve lost count!…!)  It tells me that the Lord is wanting me to see and take note of the message these verses are conveying.

I don’t know about you but I know that I am very guilty of trying to pack too much into my day and putting too much onto my proverbial fork.   Whether working full or part-time, retired or whatever the case, the pressures of life in one way or another press down upon us, so often sapping us of energy and leaving us unable to cope with even the basics.

There is so much turmoil around – in the world, in the workplace, within oneself …

Everyday we are confronted with growing concerns in our country and around the world.  Financial insecurity, selfishness and lack of consideration for others (especially the elderly and vulnerable in our society), threats of terrorism, to mention just a few issues.

In addition, we have our very own personal problems: failing health, family and relationship issues and trauma, budgetary constraints, loneliness, job insecurity, separation of various kinds, the list is endless.

Even if you feel “everything is under control”, I believe the few verses I share here will be a great blessing both now and in the future.

Take God at His Word – He means what He says – His Word has been given as a lamp to young man reading small bibleguide our feet and a light for our paths. (Psalm 119:106)

Jesus said:  “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”  As some translations state, “Come ye apart and rest a while” (Mark 6:31)

Very recently I read the following on Twitter which blessed me so much: “When life slows down, we cannot fail to notice every day miracles and be thankful for them”.  There are times when life situations force us to slow down.  On the other hand, there are times when we have to determine to “be still” and to realize that we need to take time out with the One who can help us through the difficult times, who hears our sighs, who sees our tears … Jesus!   And it is so true, when we heed our Saviour’s invitation to “come apart … and rest a while”, He will reveal Himself to us.  As we meditate on His Word, we will be able to see how He has been carrying us through every twist and turn of our lives.  With His help and strength, we will gradually regain some focus in our lives.  I know it is so, I’ve Sunsetexperienced it and am experiencing it even now as I write this blog post.

So, no matter what situation you find yourself in at the moment, let us in the words of the Psalmist say: “Find rest, o my soul, in God alone.   My hope and expectation is from Him”. (Psalm 62:5)

5 thoughts on “Finding rest for your souls ….

  1. This is so encouraging and timely, Day. I am currently holed up in a hotel in rural Hampshire, having decided I needed to “stop the world and get off” for a couple of days. I went to Choral Evensong at Winchester Cathedral on the way here, and once I had unpacked and settled into my room, I felt God asking me, as He asked Elijah on Mount Carmel, “What are you doing here?” and I was struggling for an answer to that question. I checked my emails and found this post waiting for me, and I found the answer to that question in the words, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” This is a time for resting in His companionship and being renewed in Him. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  2. I praise the Lord for graciously using my blog in the precious way He has done. May the Lord strengthen and renew you as you rest in a quiet place with our precious Saviour. Thank you for sharing your testimony!

    Like

  3. A great post, Day. So full of hope and promise. Since God gave me the word ‘Come’ for this year, I have found this verse particularly encouraging and special as I seek to do just that. We turn to Him in our weakness and weariness and He refreshes our souls by His Presence. A glorious exchange! Thank you for this lovely, encouraging reminder. May you be richly blessed in depending upon His grace and love. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

